Seventy-four artists were selected out of 200 applicants to present the most interesting, diverse and outstanding glass art made in the UK in the last two years.  The work will form a cutting-edge showcase of contemporary British based glass talent with over £12,000 worth of awards to be won. Prize winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on 22 August at the Glasshouse, Stourbridge. Winners of the prizes chosen through public votes will be announced at the closing ceremony on 28 September.

Both established artists and emerging new talent will be on display, including work by 12 students and 21 new artists in the main section. The selected artists have been brave and innovative, using a wide range of styles and techniques both traditional and experimental.

“The field of applications for the British Glass Biennale were of a very high standard this year which made the process of judging extremely difficult, but that is how it should be. Through their collective wisdom, knowledge and experience they made a fantastic selection for this years’ Biennale.

 We are delighted that the Seattle based Glass Arts Society (GAS) are sponsoring a prestigious new International Artists Award prize, open to all our artists in this exciting exhibition. This is the first time the Glass Arts Society has sponsored an international prize and recognises the significance of the British Glass Biennale in the global glass community.”

Matt Durran, Curator 2019

Congratulations to all the artists selected

Alison Allum

Allister Malcolm

Emma Baker

James Maskrey

George Bell*

Kelsey Mayo*

Laura Birdsall

Gayle Matthias

Heike Brachlow

Laura McKinley

Edmond Byrne

Jonathan Michie

Nina Casson McGarva

Marzena Ostromecka

Ian Chadwick

Lois Parker

Keeryong Choi

Kate Pasvol

Katharine Coleman

Lauren Puckett*

Anuradha Cook

Georgia Redpath

Vanessa Cutler

David Reekie

Jerre Davidson

Bruno Romanelli

Calum Dawes*

Opal Seabrook

Chris Day*

Cathryn Shilling

James Devereux

Amanda Simmons

Neil Edwards

Caroline Small

Fiaz Elson

Katrin Spranger

Hanne Enemark

Helen Slater Stokes*

Hannah Facey

Paul Stopler

Carrie Fertig

Dawid Stroyny*

Alec Galloway

Karlyn Sutherland

Emma Goring*

Ayako Tani

Jianyong Guo*

Louis Thompson & Sophie Thomas

Claire Hall

Kaja Upelj

Crispian Heath

Phil Vickery

Vicky Higginson

Frans Wesselman

Ji Huang*

Sarah Wiberley

Max Jacquard

Emma Woffenden

Julie Johnson

Bethany Wood & Elliot Walker

Kate Jones & Stephen Gilles

Ben Woodeson

Monette Larsen

Jinya Zhao*

Lola Lazaro Hinks

Jeff Zimmer

Jessie Lee

Muna Zuberi

James Lethbridge

Maria Zulueta*

Jon Lewis


* indicates student entry

Image: (K)not by student Kelsey Mayo